Our 2023 Garden Party is planned for Tuesday, August 15 at the Springville Country Club. Doors will open at 5 p.m.

Our honorees are the late Douglas Baker and the Bertrand Chaffee Hospital Women’s Association.

Mr. Baker was the founder of Mercy Flight and “revolutionized medical transportation service in Western New York.” He was extremely instrumental in bringing Mercy Flight and Mercy EMS services to the Springville community and for the construction of the hangar and base on the Bertrand Chaffee campus.

The Women’s Association has been in existence for over 70 years and holds many fundraising activities to support to the BCH Foundation. This dedicated group of women has raised over $300,000 since 1995, supporting clinical equipment purchases and building improvements at Bertrand Chaffee Hospital and the Jennie B. Richmond Nursing Home.

Our Foundation board, hospital board, employees and supporters are thrilled to be able to honor these two individuals for their service to our facility and the medical care they have provided to our community.

The Bertrand Chaffee Hospital Foundation commits funds from this and all its events towards projects that benefit Bertrand Chaffee Hospital and the Jennie B. Richmond Nursing Home. This year, funds raised through our Garden Party will be directed toward the purchase of a LUCAS Chest Compression Device for the BCH Emergency Department. The LUCAS device is a mechanical chest compression device that helps lifesaving teams around the world deliver high-quality, guidelines-consistent chest compressions to sudden cardiac arrest patients.

Entertainment for the evening will be provided by the Springville Jazz Orchestra, conducted by Bill Cocca.

Sponsorships for our events are gratefully accepted – businesses and individuals are welcome to show their support through one of the options on our 2023 Garden Party Sponsorship Form (Adobe PDF), or through a custom sponsorship. Contact Kelly Campbell at (716) 592-2871 ext. 1485 for details.


Tickets are available from the Bertrand Chaffee Hospital reception desk in the BCH front lobby starting in June, or from Kelly Campbell (Development and Community Relations Director, kcampbell@bch-jbr.org). Tickets are $60 per person.


Thank You to Our 2023 Garden Party Sponsors:

Sunflower Sponsors:
Bertrand Chaffee Hospital Medical Staff
RP Oakhill Building Company, Inc.

Aster Sponsors:
Schneegold Wealth Solutions
Springville & Arcade Dental Arts Group, LLP
Springville Door & Window
Dr. Timothy and Mrs. Karen Stanford

Rose Sponsors:
B & B Homes, Inc.
Carmina Wood Design
Freed Maxick
Gernatt Asphalt Products
Julie’s Pizzeria and Restaurant
Springville Pediatrics

Marigold Sponsors:
Sons of Amvets Boston Post No. 219
WNY Imaging Systems

Every day, there are families in Springville who are thankful to have a Bertrand Chaffee Hospital in their community. Whether they are here for emergency care, long-term nursing care, or management of chronic conditions, their access to quality healthcare is our priority.

2022: Honoring the late David Batterson, the late Dr. Gordon Comstock, and Dr. Priscilla Dale

2019: Honoring Dr. Gerard Diesfeld and Mary Kwiatek, RN

2018: Honoring William King and the Cordelian Club for their contributions to BCH and JBR

Pictures from the 2018 Garden Party are posted on Facebook in our photo gallery.

2017: Celebrating the career of Darlene Schrantz, RN & Honoring the memory of William McMahon, MD

2016: Remembering Paul Randall & John Frank

2015: Teresa Kessler, RN & George Vasiliauskas

2014: Dr. & Mrs. William Strong

2013: Dr. Craig Wiede & Dr. Richard Nowak